Daring to Hope by Katie Davis Majors

Daring to Hope by Katie Davis Majors

21751894_10208151006093031_997510143614021315_nKatie Davis Majors seemed to be the perfect college bound high school senior when a spring mission trip took her to Uganda.  She discovered the need for someone to care for the young people of the country.  Upon returning home she informed her family she would be moving to Uganda after graduation for a year of mission work.  That year has turned into 10.  Katie’s shares her experiences in the new book, Daring to Hope: Finding God’s Goodness in the Broken and the Beautiful (Multnomah, 2017) which is the follow up to her New York Times bestselling book, Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption (Multnomah, 2011).

The Book

Katie shares her struggles with the pain she sees others experiencing.  She questions why God would let the things happen to those she cares about.  God begins to speak to Katie in many ways and she sees His goodness reigns no matter what else is happening.

Katie is the mother to 14 and the caretaker to a whole village.  She shares her stories of caring not only for her adopted daughters but for friends and their families.  She writes of the pain of loosing friends and the joy of watching others grow in their faith.  Through it all we see Katie and her girls grow as well.

My thoughts

As I was reading this book, I was struck many times by the fact that I have often asked the same questions I was hearing Katie ask.  No I don’t live in Africa.  Yes I have all the creature comforts one would expect an American to have.  Still I often wondered why God lets us suffer and seems to leave us alone with our own struggles.  As I read this book and heard my questions I realized that God is always there no matter what is going on.  We don’t always feel His presence but He is there using all our experiences.

I think this book should be read by everyone who is a Christian or those who are just questioning Christianity.  This is such a time in our world that many of us are questioning where is God.  It is nice to be reminded by one such as Katie that God is there in everything and still has control.  One of my favorite quotes from the book appears below in a meme created by another reviewer.

daring to hope

I received this book early as an opportunity to read it and provide my honest opinions.  All opinions in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

